top of page

My Favorite Christmas Traditions


We've all got that quirky Christmas tradition. In my family we like to celebrate our Swedish heritage, adding our own little twist, by preparing a large breakfast of cinnamon rolls, orange juice, cocoa and potatoes Christmas morning and then having the oldest daughter (mwuah) dress in a floor length white dress with a crown of candles present the breakfast to her family. Over the years it has become a lot less formal and way more about the food but it is still fun to bring part of our heritage to a time when family is so close. Update on this tradition: Battery powered candles are a given though I do wish I had the skill to balance real candles on my head and I have long since handed the baton to my sister to have a chance to wear the coveted white dress that also acted as the angel costume for the nativity play.

We also always go ice skating and per request of my little sister still open a present Christmas eve. All of us had already taken it upon ourselves to buy our own gifts with "Santa's money" this year and so it wasn't a huge surprise when I tore into what has become one of my post prized possessions, this new beautiful ski coat. It's leopard print and I'm in love. Don't worry though i still did the "oh my gosh!!! What is this!? How did you guys know!" Just for ambiance.

My mom was asking me what traditions I wanted to keep in my home when I have my own kids and I think these two will for sure stay, all you eligible Swedish bachelors raise yo hands. But gathering the family and getting to put on the nativity scene was something I definitely missed this year and will be something I will make sure happens no matter how old we are. There was magic about this Christmas. Granted leading up to it, never once did I feel like it was actually that time of year but that's what made it so special. It quickly came and went and we just enjoyed every minute of it. There was no time for worry or Christmas break lag after the holidays. It was much needed time with the family, much needed time to reflect on our Savior and much needed time for as little distraction and stress as possible.

What are some of your favorite family traditions?

Love, Lundie


bottom of page