top of page

Canyonlands, Moab


Last weekend we packed up our trusty ole suburban and made the little drive to Moab. This tradition has been going longer than I can remember. Early in January my mom enters us all in the Canyonlands Half Marathon and then I don't end up training ever until I remember the night before when we check in and get our bibs.

I'm not one to prepare well in advance. I really just like to make things harder on myself haha I have run the half marathon a handful of times, eighth grade was the first time I think I ever completed the 13.1 mile race but have now committed to something a little more humble and less taxing on the body. Thank heavens they have a five mile option too.

For every year that I can remember we have rented the same little log cabin and made a weekend of hiking, four wheeling excursions, running and soaking in the hot tub. But with my dad's new mid life crisis, the Razr, a pregnant sister in law and a nephew they helped us make the genius idea of upgrading to a cool house thing.

We took the Razr out, came to some near death experiences teetering off rocks, ran like the wind in our matching leggings, grilled out, played football in the street, visited with friends and didn't think about work or school for one whole minute.

After the race we all collapsed in the big park next to the finish line. Coolers were filled to the brim with chocolate milk and a local band played something jazzy. Little O was getting dowwnnn with the tuba player. He also kept following all of the little girls becuase toddler crushes are real and he's got some game.

I'm already planning my retirement in Moab but figured I should probably graduate from college first...or get married.

Love, Lundie


bottom of page