top of page

Mendenhall Glacier// Juneau, Alaska

Another one of the tours our company offered was a guided walk on the glacier by helicopter. The first two months we tried and tried getting on this tour when we had down time during work but just didn't have the luck. By the last few weeks I had almost given up when all of a sudden there was an opening one Wednesday and Lex and I found ourselves slipping on glacier boots and climbing into a helicopter.

Random side tangent. We would have to cancel people who were booked for our tours due to poor weather conditions a lot down on the docks. Whether it was telling them as they were coming off the ship or getting a call and then having to run after the bus and pull everyone off it was never a fun experience. People would always tell us we were ruining their vacation...because we control the weather. I mean I definitely prayed that there would be heavy low hanging clouds so I could crush everybody's dreams of flying in a helicopter to a glacier. I'm a monster.

One of the most monstrous things I had to do though, and I seriously felt like the world was going to end, is when I pulled a group aside on the docks to tell them I had just received a weather call and their tour was going to be cancelled. Everyone got a little flustered but I quickly redirected them to their booking agent on the ship and started gathering up all my stuff. I noticed there was a guy that had hung behind and I could see he wanted to talk to me. I made eye contact but I could hear a woman yelling after him very frustrated. He snapped back at her, said one second, and came over to me. With a scrunched nose, speaking out of the side of his mouth. he said, "so how would you suggest I propose to my girlfriend now?"

Guilt and horror swept over my face. Oh nooooooo I just ruined an engagement. A super expensive and cool one at that. Good thing my boss showed up out of no where right at that moment to recommended some other options.

Don't you just hate that though? Having to cancel helicopters AND engagements. Woof.

okay tangent over, back to the glacier.

One of our really good friends was working as a glacier guide that day and she was able to take us aside on our own and show us around a bit. We learned how to do a glacier push up to drink the water and one of the guides gave us "glacials" which was really just mud that he wiped all over our faces. Supah classy. Cleaned up all those blemishes real fast;)

Love, Lundie


bottom of page