top of page

The Howl 2017

You might hear it referred to as the biggest Halloween party West of the Mississippi and it's true. It's so big there should be a liability waiver stating that life could end upon entering. The hardest decision I had to make that night was trying to decide if it was worth risking my life to duck down and find my shoe knowing fully well that I would be trampled on by a thousand college students hurling themselves at each other in a "mosh" pit. And don't think for one second I'm dogging the Howl or its attendees, I for sure was part of that mosh pit and I for sure probably gave someone a black eye accidentally. But that's the price you pay to be drenched in other people's sweat. Very liberating I'd say. They have a Rockstar booth where they hand out energy drinks all night and I'm convinced it would have been a much smarter idea to pass out sticks of deodorant cause I swear 50% of the people at the Howl seemed to have forgotten it. Guess that's what makes it all the more halloween esque, bad smelling individuals wearing nothing but saran wrap. CLASSY.

Lexi and I decided to ransack our mothers closets for all their old scarves and be gypsy/fortunetellers for the night and I'm positive we would have won the award for wearing the most clothes at that party. Wearing a whole shirt almost made us stand out a little. We found our pants online after searching the term "gypsy parachute pants" haha I don't know what we were exactly hoping to find but it worked! 30% of our outfits came from old mission clothes Lexi got in Guatemala, another 50% of our clothing was from our mothers' closets and the other 20% OLD NAVAAYYYY baby.

I feel like every year people just keep getting more creative and I love all the things you can dress up as while also avoiding the costume store. Any who, the Howl was fun. Bought myself a pizza at 1 am cause dancing really works up an appetite and also got to hold some cool snakes. It wasn't a life changing experience but it had the potential to be life altering with one wrong move hahaha really put the fear factor into all of it.

Love, Lundie


bottom of page